AZ LAWlert: Arizona Minimum Wage Increase, Effective January 1, 2019

The Arizona minimum wage is set to go to $11 an hour, up from $10.50, on January 1. As a result of voters passing Proposition 206, the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, in 2016.

An effort to lock in the statewide minimum at $10.50 and repeal the Act’s paid sick time requirement failed to make it out of the committee in the 2018 legislature, so the new $11 minimum is set to take effect at midnight on January 1.

Rate rising to $12 in Flagstaff. The city of Flagstaff has a higher minimum than the statewide law requires. In Flagstaff, the minimum wage is set to go from $11 to $12 per hour on January 1, a result of a separate 2016 vote in that city. Whether to keep Flagstaff’s minimum wage above the statewide base rate was a controversial issue in the city’s 2018 election, but Flagstaff voters rejected Proposition 418, a measure that would have reduced the city minimum wage to the state level through January 2021, after which it would be 50 cents above the state minimum.

What Employers Need to Do

To be ready for 2019, employers need to update pay rates for any workers earning minimum wage and make any other necessary adjustments. Also, they must have the right posters on employee bulletin boards before the first business day of the year.

Guardian HR offers 2019 minimum wage and earned sick time posters, available in English and Spanish by clicking the link below:

2019 State & Federal Poster Order Form

– Author: Dinita L. James

We hope this information is valuable to you. If you have any questions regarding this alert, please do not hesitate to contact us by phone or email for assistance.